Gain 7: The Future

Gain 7: The Future

That’s truly been keeping me going in the past few days. Not that I’ve had an atrocious time, but I have definitely felt the need to keep my motivation high.

I weighed myself today and I’ve gained weight.

“Great!” You’re thinking, “that’s what Operation Gain is all about, right?!”

… but when I saw that number flashing back at me I felt a twinge of regret. Increasing numbers on the scale has always been a source of anxiety for me and I watched my thoughts spiral into absurdity.

The number has risen!

It’s noticeable already!

That gut reaction is tough to stop. A few moments later I was able to turn my thoughts to the future -my biggest motivation. I got out my pen and paper and I wrote out my dreams, I wrote out what I wanted to achieve. And it’s true- I’ve got places I want to go, things I want to do! Re reading my list, I left the room with a new sense of clarity.

It’s exciting to think about the future- if you think about it in the right way. I used to fear the future, because I didn’t know what it held, sometimes I didn’t even want one. Now I am trying to view it as an opportunity. And opportunities are few and far between when you’re ill.

I have a greater purpose than weight loss. Anorexia has taken over 5 years of my past: I cannot change that, but I can change the future. The here and now.

I am deeply reassured by that.

I am 21 years old. Although it doesn’t always feel like it, I have the world at my feet. I just have to decide what to do with the time I have. As we all do.

I have the strength and control to forge my own path in life and the further it is from anorexia, the better. I am more determined than ever to fully recover. I never thought I could summon the courage to fight, but now I tell it to p*** off daily. Hourly.

I am a big believer in positive thinking nomso here are my positives:

  • I gained weight
  • I am drinking a lot more water
  • I’ve been challenging myself with different foods
  • I have caught up with friends recently
  • I am managing well

 

~Alee

 

Does thinking of the future help you too?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Gain 7: The Future

  1. Keep going! – when you gain anorexia will want to pull you back down. It’s a threat to it. BUT you are getting stronger, fitter, healthier and closer to your goals. Remember – your weight does not equate to your value. Do check out my own blog for posts on this and get in touch anytime. Sending love and gentle hugs. x

    Like

  2. Weight gain terrorized me when I was coming back from starving. I get it. My slow change occurred as I looked back at the trauma of my childhood. Although painful, day by day I gained my identity and the defining attributes associated with pounds began to morph. Write to heal, keep a journal of emotions and trust that the spirit which resides in you is greater than all spirits who oppose, even the voice of fear. My prayers are with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

