An ED is not forever.

This is my first post in … a while!

I am delighted to say that this is because I have been exceptionally busy but equally as content.

As I mentioned in a previous post I graduated with a 2:1! That week – grad week- was so much fun. Many of my friends have moved on from university now to pursue careers and other aspects of “being an adult” which is not just unnerving but scary even (I swear I’m still like, 12 years old…).

I then began my summer job as an English language teacher down in Brighton. It was really exciting to explore a new city and I enjoyed meeting people from all walks of life.

South of England

Food wise, all our meals were provided, which meant the anxieties of handling food were non existent. Throughout I ate well and didn’t let myself get too shaken up.

I began my second job in a small village in Wiltshire in late July. I had a similar role, but with added responsibilities. I absolutely love working with young people and in education so it was nice, however, the hours were exceptionally long.

I was often working 14 hour days and after doing a string of 12- 14- 12-14-14-12 days, well, it takes it out of you! By the end of the job I was exhausted. I was so proud to have been able to successfully do that job, but I was glad to see it end. Especially as…

Not 2 days later, my boyfriend and I were on our way to Nepal! We spent 12 days in that magnificent country. We spent five days or so trekking in the Himalayas, which is something I thought I would ever (or could ever) do. It was physically gruelling and heatstroke struck me down on the first day… and yet I loved it.

A perfect start to the day!

The views were simply stunning and I  thought to myself how proud 17 year old me would have been. Ah, if she could see me now! It also made me realise how much me and my body can do if we work together. My body is an amazing tool and I want to work to do something similar.

Trekking does seem to be good for me, as it gives me an achievable goal but it allows me to push myself too. I definitely want to do it again.

I’m now back at uni and raring to start my MA.

Well, I’m still tired, but there ain’t no rest for the wicked!

I am feeling optimistic about my recovery and about life. I have shown myself over the past year that I can do it and more importantly for me, that I have the potential to do whatever I want to do.

I’ve got a degree, I’ve trekked in the Himalayas, I’ve lived and worked in China, I’ve ran classes of 30 students, I’ve helped people- I couldn’t be prouder.

Keep at it, honestly.

~Alee

Leave a Reply

