Goodbye 2016. 2017, What will you hold for me?

I’m a few days late. We’re over a week into 2017 already, however, I desperately wanted to write a year in review for 2016, followed by postulation for this year.

There’s been a lot on social media about how 2016 has been the “worst year ever”, some saying so with a touch of hyperbole and others with genuine moroseness. Thankfully, I do not share in that despondency. At first thought, 2016 has been nothing short of a success. Mental health wise I haven’t relapsed once, sure there have been times where I have felt extremely low and I haven’t always eaten 3 meals a day and 3 snacks, sometimes my mood and intake have been less than satisfactory, however, I have kept a hold of my illnesses for the most part and I am very proud of that!

2016 was a great year academically, I graduated from my uni with a 2:1 in BA English after three years of hard work and a dissertation. There were times where Imooo genuinely thought I might not finish it, but I am so glad I did. A few months later, I started on my MA where I commenced the learning of Latin and started studying more intensively the Medieval English period.

It’s been really challenging but I have loved learning more about this wonderful period in our history.

This year has pretty much been dictated by my learning and I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

Aside from learning, I have also been working. In the summer, which was free, I took up a job as an English teacher for foreign students. This year I was in the UK, which isn’t as exciting as two months in China, but I still got to explore different parts of England which I had previously never visited.

During this role, I worked and saw Brighton, Portsmouth, London, Oxford, Bath, Bristol and Wiltshire. It was taxing as I was working 12 hour days, but I earned some money and got to help others along the way (what more can I ask for?).

20160813_205129
Sunset in Wiltshire

The third element of my 2016 was definitely travel.

My first foreign trip of the year was in February to France. I went for an extended weekend, flew out from London, spent a few days in the city of Metz with her and spent a day in Luxembourg. It was crazy but so enjoyable! I went when I should have been working on my dissertation, but hey, it all worked out in the end didn’t it?!

6a

13

dsc03325
I love the old stuff…!
dsc03345
This was in Nancy

Barely a week after, I was off again to Italy with my wonderful boyfriend! You guessed it- we were headed straight to Rome! This came as a surprise a few weeks prior, it was an early anniversary present (we celebrated a year together in March) and I was absolutely delighted to be heading to Italy.

18
My handsome guy and I at the Trevi fountain!
30
Beautiful!
34
We also made a trip out to Bologna and Forli (pictured)
36
And of course, the main event…
dsc02939
The walls of the Vatican City

It was quite possibly the best holiday I had ever been on! And with the man of my dreams, I really couldn’t complain!

In true 2016 style, my next holiday wasn’t far away! After a few months grafting away, I handed in my dissertation… and off we went to Croatia!

2
I saw my second Roman Colosseum of the year!

14

17
The weather was gorgeous…
21
And along with me came my fellow English students on a well needed break.

The most extravagant holiday came in the month of August. Shortly after finishing my job, my boyfriend and I jetted off to Asia to see the wonders of… NEPAL. This was all planned very last minute, but we managed to pull it off quite magnificently!

20160823_053355
We went hiking in the Himalayas!
20160823_063314
This was the view one morning from our bedroom!
20160823_065215
Breakfast anyone?
20160825_074554
The Himalayas, feat. a dog
20160827_101053
Lumbini, The birthplace of Buddha

It was ridiculously beautiful.

In my final holiday abroad of 2016, I returned to France, this time arriving in the area of Les Vosges. I spent New Year there with friends, in a chalet atop a mountain. Not bad, not bad at all…Image may contain: mountain, sky, plant, tree, outdoor, nature and water

I got back a few days ago (hence the late writing of this post). My French is very bad, unfortunately, but I had a magnificent time nonetheless.

I went on a few UK based trips this year too, such as down to Cornwall and to the Gower in Wales. I’ve been very lucky.

2016, you’ve been ridiculous. And I’m not sure I can top that in 2017, but we’ll give it a bloody good go!

2017

This year, I have to finish off my MA, write a 20,000 word dissertation and well, that’s about it. Come September, I’ll either be getting a full time job or going travelling for a few months. I really need to decide what the next step is for me; I’ve dedicated many years to my own education, is it time for a break? Do I get a job? Do I go travelling?

We shall see.

Leave a Reply

