How to Help Yourself in Recovery

We all know that you have to save yourself. Your parents aren’t going to do it for you, your therapist isn’t, your best friend isn’t either. You have to.

So, how do you help yourself? How do you get to the point where you are, well, recovered?

Persistence.

Honestly, I think that is pretty much the crux of it.

I have been struggling with anorexia for nearly 7 years and it’s only been in the last eighteen months that I have seen considerable progress. I’m not talking physically, as we all know someone with anorexia can be a healthy weight but psychologically still be in excruciating pain. In the last eighteen months I have been reaping the rewards from my years of hard work against anorexia. And honestly, it’s only been in the last 6 months that I’ve got my anxiety down about my weight and day to day food consumption. I’m a work in progress.

The point is, if I had given up 2 years in, or 5 years in, I’d still be way back there struggling with my breakfast, rather than here, eating freely.

I’m not saying it’s going to take you 7 years to get better, but I am saying that this takes time and it is imperative that you persist.

Leave a Reply

